New access and delivery service

The State Library is pleased to announce the launch of Get-It!

Get-It is a free online service that enables State Library members to access stock held by any public library throughout Western Australia via an online search and request system.

Regional and Remote Library users are able to access a similar service through their local libraries using the current inter library loan service.

Items requested via Get-It! will be available for collection at the Welcome Desk on the ground floor of the State Library. In addition to the free State Library collection option, there is a delivery option available to have items mailed out via express post at a cost of $10 per item.

Get-It! is another way to find and access books, DVDs and other resources from State Library stock and requests can be lodged online through the State Library’s website at Get-It! (www.slwa.wa.gov.au/find/loans_and_orders/getit)

Should a required title not be available in Western Australian state or public library stock, the Get-It! system will search the Libraries Australia catalogue enabling items to be borrowed from the National and State Libraries of Australia as well as other public and institutional libraries. Some of these are fee based loans but members are advised of this and given the choice to reject or continue with the loan request.

The State Library of Western Australia is located in the heart of the Perth Cultural Centre. It preserves and provides access to Western Australia’s published heritage and original historical records. The State Library also provides numerous on-line and e-resources, many of which are accessible from your home PC using your public library membership. To see what else the State Library has to offer you please check out the State Library’s web pages at http://slwa.wa.gov.au/

 

25 thoughts on “New access and delivery service

  1. Hi, can you tell me if this means that I can get books from the State Library sent to my local public library in Bunbury for free? Thanks very much

  2. Hi Lucy. Members of public libraries, including Bunbury, could already get selected items sent from the State Library to their library for free via the Inter Library Loan system. If you become a State Library member you will have the option of having items from the State Library, or another public library, delivered to your house by Express Post for a $10 fee.

  3. Once I initially commented I clicked the -Notify
    me when new feedback are added-

    checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four emails
    with the same comment.

    Is there any means you may take away me

    from that service? Thanks!

  4. Hi there, just became aware of your blog through
    Google, and found that it’s truly

    informative. I’m going to watch out for brussels. I will be grateful if you continue

    this in future. A lot of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  5. Appreciating the commitment you put into your website and in
    depth information you provide. It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same outdated rehashed information.
    Excellent read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  6. Je m’appelle Ancelina.
    Je suis une jeune fille de 21 ans , je ne fait pas de problème à ce sujet !
    Ce que je fais dans la vie: attachée commerciale . Mon caractère est plutôt réservé.

  7. je suis Dominique
    Je suis agée de trente et un ans .
    je suis un stage de automaticienne ! Si je suis parfois souriante,
    ce n’est pas forcément un défaut ?

  8. Hello! I realize this is kind of off-topic but I

    had to ask. Does building a

    well-established blog like yours take a

    lot of work? I’m

    brand new to writing a blog

    but I do write in my diary daily. I’d like to start a blog so I can share my
    experience and views online. Please let me know if you have
    any kind of

    suggestions or tips for new aspiring

    bloggers. Thankyou!

  9. Blop, Ici Galatee
    Je suis jeune de vingt-sept printemps .
    Je travaille comme accompagnatrice de tourisme !
    Mes amies racontent que je suis je m’en foutiste.

  10. Hey! This is the second time visiting now and I just wanted
    to say I truley relish reading through your weblog. I decided to bookmark it at reddit.
    com with your title: New access and delivery service |
    SLWA Blog and your Website address: http://slwa.
    wordpress.com/2012/05/07/new-access-and-delivery-service/.
    I hope this is okay with you, I’m making an attempt to give your terrific blog a bit more coverage. Be back shortly.

Leave a Reply

