Great website about the history of Western Australian cinemas

http://cinemaweb.scam.ecu.edu.au/search.php 

Dr Ina Bertrand from Edith Cowan University has created a thorough and fascinating website, giving histories of every cinema and drive-in to ever exist in Western Australia. You can search by location or keywords. For many entries there are photographs.

drivein2.jpg

Try looking up your suburb or town – you may be surprised by the cinemas that once existed there. For example, did you know that there was once a chain of three cinemas in Victoria Park?

I have explored this site with a certain sadness at the rich heritage of cinemas Perth once had. Most of them are now lost, with just a few multiplexes in their place.

The photograph shown here is actually from our collection showing an unknown drive-in in 1958; its number is 240025PD.

31 thoughts on “Great website about the history of Western Australian cinemas

  1. I agree, this is the Skyline – see photograph in the SLWA catalogue at 104013PD just catalogued. The catalogue record for 240025PD has been adjusted.

    • Thanks for your comment. We’re glad to hear you enjoy reading our blog.

      – State Library of Western Australia

  2. From my experience, the larger health food store
    chains do address yet never adequately alleviate the painful disconnect, the un-holistic split, between family budgets and store
    prices. ‘ The irony of history, and the discovery of NO, can be found in the life of Alfred Nobel. That is the same amount of calories in a fast food quarter pounder.

  3. Nevertheless, the preservation of food is still a daily affair and therefore, I have listed
    a few top tips on preserving foodstuff underneath, so that you will get the best from that which you have bought or grown in your very own garden even
    if it is a long while later. What better reason to indulge in a
    few pieces of delicious, premium dark chocolate especially when
    used to create mouthwatering appetizers and desserts. The rhizome should be about A� inches covered with soil from the base.

  4. Good day! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an established blog.
    Is it difficult to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about setting up my own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any points or suggestions? Many thanks

  5. Hi there! I realize this is somewhat off-topic however I
    needed to ask. Does operating a well-established blog like yours take a
    massive amount work? I’m completely new to writing a blog but I do write in my diary on a daily basis. I’d like to start a
    blog so I can easily share my personal experience and thoughts online.
    Please let me know if you have any recommendations
    or tips for new aspiring bloggers. Appreciate it!

  6. Hey There. I found your weblog using msn. This is a really smartly written
    article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful info. Thank you for the post. I’ll
    definitely comeback.

  7. Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I in finding It really useful & it
    helped me out a lot. I am hoping to give something again and
    aid others such as you aided me.

  8. It produces energy for the body rather than being stored as fat and increases
    the metabolic rate and promotes weight loss. The benefits of coconut oil are that unlike
    any other oils, the oil contains fewer calories and its
    fat content is easily converted into energy.
    It’s easy to treat dry skin cheaply, simply, naturally, yet effective, at home.

  9. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading it, you’re a great author.I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and definitely will come back in the foreseeable future. I want to encourage you to definitely continue your great writing, have a nice evening!

  10. Hello very cool website!! Man .. Beautiful .. Superb .
    . I’ll bookmark your web site and take the feeds also? I am satisfied to search out so many helpful information here in the publish, we need develop more strategies on this regard, thank you for sharing. . . . . .

  11. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button!
    I’d definitely donate to this brilliant blog! I suppose for now i’ll
    settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to
    my Google account. I look forward to fresh updates and will share this
    blog with my Facebook group. Chat soon!

  12. Hey! I simply would like to give a huge thumbs up for the nice info you could have right here on this post.
    I shall be coming back to your blog for more
    soon.

  13. Hello! I just want to give a huge thumbs up for the good
    information you’ve gotten right here on this post.
    I might be coming again to your blog for more soon.

  14. First of all, what is the difference between a jailbreak i – Phone and an unlocked
    i – Phone. Jailbreak for i – Phone means you are allowed to install 3rd party applications on your i –
    Phone. The best thing is to avoid the i – Phone repairing as prevention better than
    cure.

  15. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew
    of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my
    newest twitter updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

  16. Just want to say your article is as amazing. The clarity
    in your post is just excellent and i can assume you are an expert on this subject.
    Fine with your permission let me to grab your feed to keep up to date with
    forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please continue the
    rewarding work.

  17. I like the valuable information you supply in your articles.
    I will bookmark your weblog and take a look at again right
    here frequently. I’m relatively sure I will be told lots of new stuff proper right here! Best of luck for the next!

Leave a Reply

