Miles Franklin 2007 shortlist – two WA authors

Organisers have announced the shortlist for the 2007 Miles Franklin Award.

Theft: A Love Story by Peter Carey
Dreams of Speaking by Gail Jones
Careless by Deborah Robertson
Carpentaria by Alexis Wright

Two of the four authors are from Western Australia – Gail Jones and Deborah Robertson. Gail was previously shortlisted in 2005 for Sixty Lights. According to the Sydney Morning Herald, Gail and Deborah are currently touring regional Tasmania with Alexis Wright.

UPDATE: The Sydney Morning Herald then ran a follow-up piece the next day, in which Deborah comments that so many good writers come from Western Australia because there’s nothing else to do and there’s less cultural noise.

(‘Write stuff’ is surely the most overused newspaper headline about writers; I’ve seen it used at least ten times.)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s